
Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa: Temps, Prices and Rules
Most people searching for Hanmer Springs want two answers fast: how hot the water gets, and whether the entry fee is worth paying. Tourism New Zealand (official tourism listing) lists the complex as open 10:00am to 7:00pm daily, about 90 minutes’ drive from Christchurch, and this guide marks each pool count and temperature where sources disagree.
Outdoor pools and activity areas: 22 or 23, sources disagree (Tourism New Zealand) · Maximum pool temperature: 42°C (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) · Adult Online Saver price: NZ$40 (Tourism New Zealand) · Opening hours: 10:00am to 7:00pm daily (Tourism New Zealand)
Quick snapshot
- Open 10:00am to 7:00pm daily (Tourism New Zealand) (New Zealand Herald (national newspaper))
- Adult Online Saver NZ$40, Flexi NZ$43 (Tourism New Zealand) (New Zealand Herald (national newspaper))
- Sulphur pools are chlorine-free (New Zealand Herald (national newspaper))
- Naturally heated geothermal mineral water (Tourism New Zealand) (New Zealand Herald (national newspaper))
- Pool count: Tourism New Zealand lists 23, while Thriving Kiwi (travel guide) counts 21 thermal pools (Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing))
- AquaTherapy temperature: 35–37°C (New Zealand Herald) versus 37°C (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) (Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing))
- PoolsPlus adult member price, reportedly NZ$28 after a NZ$7 saving (Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing))
- Chlorine status of pools other than the sulphur pools (Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing))
- Elemental opened (New Zealand Herald)
- Hexagonal Pools opened in 1978 (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide))
- The Thriving Kiwi price check dates from (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide))
- Confirm PoolsPlus price and terms with the operator before buying (Hot Springs Guides (travel guide))
- Ask about chlorine and shower rules, which the sources reviewed here do not state (Hot Springs Guides (travel guide))
- Visitors with heart disease, high blood pressure or circulatory conditions should consult a physician before the hotter pools, according to Hot Springs Guides (travel guide)
Eight checkable details, one pattern: the official listing sets the baseline for hours and prices, while the temperature and membership detail comes from guides and reviews.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Opening hours | 10:00am to 7:00pm daily (Tourism New Zealand; Air New Zealand Activity Deals (booking listing)) |
| Outdoor pools and activity areas | 22 or 23, sources disagree (Tourism New Zealand) |
| Water source | Naturally heated geothermal mineral water (Tourism New Zealand) |
| Maximum pool temperature | 42°C, sulphur pools (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) |
| Adult (16+) Online Saver | NZ$40, online only, booked at least 24 hours ahead for a specific date (Tourism New Zealand) |
| Adult (16+) Flexi | NZ$43, any day within 12 months, online or over the counter (Tourism New Zealand) |
| Drive from Christchurch | About 90 minutes (Tourism New Zealand) |
| PoolsPlus eligibility | New Zealand residents who are regular visitors (Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing)) |
Are Hanmer Springs pools chlorinated?
The sulphur pools are reported to be chlorine-free, but that answer does not carry over to the rest of the complex. The New Zealand Herald describes the sulphur pools as chlorine-free, and Thriving Kiwi says no chlorine is added to the geothermal sulphur water. None of the sources reviewed states the chlorination status of the other pools.
What water treatment do the pools use?
- Thermal water is naturally heated geothermal mineral water (Tourism New Zealand).
- Sulphur pools are chlorine-free (New Zealand Herald).
- A geothermal bore about 25 metres underground is reportedly the water source, per NZ Review (travel guide).
- Chlorination of the other pools is not stated in any source reviewed, so the operator needs to confirm it.
The implication: the sulphur pools answer the chlorine question, but the other pools still need an answer from the operator before a visitor can assume the same.
Do I need to shower after hot springs?
None of the sources reviewed states shower rules or hygiene expectations at the pools. Ask the operator before arrival so you know what applies on the day.
Tourism New Zealand lists 23 outdoor pools and activity areas, while Thriving Kiwi counts 21 thermal pools, so a visitor counting pools on arrival has no single number to check against.
What this means: one call to the operator would settle the pool count, the chlorine question and shower rules, and no source reviewed settles any of them.
Is Hanmer Springs Hot Pools worth it?
The answer depends on which pools you want and how often you plan to come. Tripadvisor (review platform) rates the attraction 4.4 out of 5 across 4,015 reviews, but that score reflects reviewer opinion rather than a measured fact about the water.
What pool temperatures are available?
- Thermal pools range from 32°C to 42°C across the complex, according to Thriving Kiwi (travel guide).
- Hexagonal Pools reach 39°C (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)).
- The lazy river and lap pool are heated to 28°C, according to Viator (booking platform reviews).
- A cold freshwater plunge at about 10°C sits beside the sulphur pools (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)).
Seven readings, one pattern: the heat concentrates in a few named pools, while the lazy river runs well below them.
| Pool or zone | Reported temperature | Adults-only |
|---|---|---|
| Sulphur pools | 40–42°C (New Zealand Herald); 42°C maximum (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) | Better suited to adults (Hot Springs Guides (travel guide)) |
| Hexagonal Pools | 39°C (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) | Better suited to adults (Hot Springs Guides (travel guide)) |
| AquaTherapy pools | 35–37°C (New Zealand Herald); 37°C (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) | Yes |
| Lazy river and lap pool | 28°C (Viator (booking platform reviews)) | Not stated |
| Cold freshwater plunge | About 10°C (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) | Not stated |
| Elemental sauna session | 70–80°C (New Zealand Herald) | Yes, 75-minute session |
| Full thermal range | 32–42°C (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)) | Not stated |
The trade-off: the hottest readings cluster in the sulphur and hexagonal pools, which the complex describes as better suited to adults, so a mixed-age group should plan separate soaks.
How long should you soak in a hot spring?
No Tier 1 health source was retrieved for a safe soak time, so this guide cannot give a verified figure. Aquarius Traveller (travel guide) advises short sessions in the hottest pools with cool-down breaks between soaks, and one of its figures is 10–15 minute soaks, a low-confidence suggestion.
What this means: build in cool-down breaks, as the travel guide advises, until a health body publishes a limit.
Which pools are adults-only?
- AquaTherapy pools are adults-only and include jets, according to the New Zealand Herald and Thriving Kiwi (travel guide).
- The Elemental contrast session is adults-only, runs 75 minutes and costs NZ$125 per person (Thriving Kiwi (travel guide)). The New Zealand Herald dates its opening to .
- Children should be kept out of adults-only pools, and lifeguards reportedly enforce the rule (Hot Springs Guides (travel guide)).
The implication: adults get two forms of quiet time, a soak in the AquaTherapy pools and a NZ$125 contrast session, and the sources do not price the AquaTherapy pools separately.
Can you go to thermal pools when pregnant?
Hot Springs Guides (travel guide) says pregnant visitors are generally advised to use cooler pools only. No obstetric or public health authority was retrieved, so the sources reviewed here do not settle the question. Confirm pregnancy rules with the operator and a clinician before visiting.
What does entry cost?
- Adult (16+) Online Saver: NZ$40, online only, booked at least 24 hours ahead for a specific date (Tourism New Zealand).
- Adult (16+) Flexi: NZ$43, usable any day within 12 months, online or over the counter (Tourism New Zealand).
- Seniors (60+) Online Saver: NZ$27, according to NZ Review (travel guide), matching a host reply on Viator (booking platform reviews) that cites $27 against a $40 adult ticket.
- Children (5–15) pay NZ$23 Online Saver or NZ$25 Flexi, and under-5s enter free, according to Thriving Kiwi (travel guide).
The implication: the NZ$3 gap between Online Saver and Flexi is the price of flexibility, so a visitor with a fixed date pays less by booking ahead.
The NZ$40 Online Saver (Tourism New Zealand) is the baseline for most adult visitors, and a PoolsPlus card only helps New Zealand residents who return often.
What this means: the price table is the firmest ground in this section, and the membership figure is the one a visitor should check first.
How to choose the cheapest entry
Three decisions, taken in order, settle most of the cost.
- Decide whether your date is fixed. If it is, Online Saver at NZ$40 is the cheaper choice, but it must be booked online at least 24 hours ahead (Tourism New Zealand).
- If your plans are flexible, choose Flexi at NZ$43, which allows any day within 12 months (Tourism New Zealand).
- Check PoolsPlus eligibility before you pay. Membership is limited to New Zealand residents who are regular visitors, and proof of residency may be required (Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing)).
- Ask the operator about chlorine and shower rules before you arrive, because the sources reviewed here do not state them.
The implication: the cheapest ticket and the most flexible ticket are different purchases, so settle how certain your date is before you open the booking page.
Upsides and downsides at a glance
Upsides
- Naturally heated geothermal mineral water across the outdoor pools (Tourism New Zealand)
- Sulphur pools reported chlorine-free (New Zealand Herald)
- Adults-only AquaTherapy pools (New Zealand Herald)
- Bookme-sourced reviews average 4.7 across 1,842 authenticated reviews (Air New Zealand Activity Deals)
Downsides
- Chlorination of the other pools is unconfirmed in any source reviewed
- PoolsPlus is limited to New Zealand residents (Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing))
- Reviewers call the gate price of about NZ$43 expensive for what is offered (Tripadvisor (review platform))
- Health guidance comes from travel guides, and no Tier 1 health source was retrieved (Hot Springs Guides (travel guide))
The trade-off: the strongest reasons to visit are the pool water and the adults-only options, while the weakest are the membership terms and the price for a single day.
What is confirmed and what is still open
The confirmed list rests on Tier 1 and Tier 2 sources, while the open list depends on travel guides, booking sites and loyalty listings.
Confirmed
- Opening hours are 10:00am to 7:00pm daily (Tourism New Zealand).
- Adult (16+) admission is NZ$40 Online Saver and NZ$43 Flexi (Tourism New Zealand).
- Sulphur pools are chlorine-free (New Zealand Herald).
Still open
- Outdoor pool count: 22 or 23 across sources, and Thriving Kiwi (travel guide) counts 21 thermal pools.
- AquaTherapy temperature: Thriving Kiwi lists 37°C, while the New Zealand Herald gives 35–37°C.
- PoolsPlus adult member price, reportedly NZ$28 after a NZ$7 saving, per Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing).
- Single-entry third-party prices vary, with one Klook (booking platform listing) reportedly at AUD 37.55.
- Chlorine status of every pool other than the sulphur pools.
- A safe maximum soak time from a health body. No Tier 1 source was retrieved.
- Pregnancy guidance from an obstetric or public health authority. None was retrieved.
- Whether the worth-it verdict holds for every visitor, since reviews split on value.
The pattern: the confirmed list rests on Tourism New Zealand and the New Zealand Herald, while the open list rests on guides, booking sites and loyalty listings, so any price from those sources needs a check before purchase.
What reporters and guides say
The thermal pools are not like a swimming pool — the heat hits you immediately. You have to lower yourself in slowly.
Britz Campervans, New Zealand campervan rental guide, quoted in NZ Review (travel guide)
These mineral-packed pools sit between 40-42C (Hanmer’s hottest) and are free from chlorine to maximise the therapeutic benefits for skin, joints and circulation.
New Zealand Herald writer, New Zealand Herald (national newspaper)
The pattern: the Herald links chlorine-free water to therapeutic benefits for skin, joints and circulation. None of the Tier 1 sources reviewed confirms that health claim, so it should be read as the writer’s view.
What this means for your trip
The pool facts are the sturdiest part of this story, since hours, prices and the sulphur pools’ chlorine-free status come from named sources, while the health questions do not. For a New Zealand resident who returns often, the PoolsPlus card is worth checking before you pay at the gate. For an international visitor with a fixed date, the choice is clear: book Online Saver at NZ$40 (Tourism New Zealand) at least 24 hours ahead, or pay NZ$43 for Flexi if your plans may change. Visitors basing themselves in Christchurch can compare nearby options in things to do in Christchurch.
Related reading: things to do in Christchurch · Kelly Tarlton’s Sea Life Aquarium tickets and visit guide
tripadvisor.co.nz, hotspringsguides.com, campermate.com, rankers.co.nz, airnewzealand.com, tripadvisor.co.nz
Frequently asked questions
Are the Hanmer Springs pools naturally heated?
Yes. Tourism New Zealand (official tourism listing) describes the complex as naturally heated geothermal mineral water.
What are the opening hours?
The complex opens 10:00am to 7:00pm daily, according to Tourism New Zealand.
How far is Hanmer Springs from Christchurch?
It is about 90 minutes’ drive, per Tourism New Zealand.
Do PoolsPlus members get discounts?
Only New Zealand residents who visit regularly qualify. Rewards.show (loyalty programme listing) says discounts apply to selected products, online and single entry only, and that a card covers two adults plus dependent children aged 15 and under.
Does the complex have a sauna?
The sauna documented in these sources belongs to the Elemental session, a 75-minute adults-only experience that moves through a sauna at 70–80°C, steam, an ice room and a private pool, according to the New Zealand Herald. The sources reviewed do not confirm a general sauna open to all visitors.
Are there lifeguards at the pools?
According to Hot Springs Guides (travel guide), lifeguards are on duty in all pool areas throughout operating hours.